I want to water your bagels

April 2, 2011

So I’ve gotten the itch to plant a vegetable and herb garden. I decided before I went nuts with it and watched it turn into a box full of weeds, I’d start slow. I got 3 large 25 gallon containers and some vegetables and herbs to work with this year, and if I learn well from it, maybe next year I’d build a box to put a garden into.

One of the dangers in having these is that my wife runs a licensed day care from our home. Little kids, and big pots with plants don’t necessarily co-exist well together. Our grandchildren are currently part of the day care so I took aside the oldest (4 years old) and showed him the pots, explained to him what they were about and what we could get to eat from them if they’re taken care of properly. I also told him, that if, when they were outside, if he saw any of the kids messing with them, to be sure and tell “Miss Mary” (my wife).

Well, he and his little sister stayed overnight with us. This turns into a treat for all of us, because we try to distinguish with them the difference between “day care time”, and “grandma and pop pop time”, and tonight was going to be grandma and pop pop time. So while I stayed home with his sister, and we spent time in the front yard throwing out bread for the birds, he and my wife went to run a few errands (which generally ends with a stop in the toy aisle). While they were out, they bought some small plastic watering cans for a project my wife had planned to do with the class during the week. In addition, he and his sister got their own, personal ones to take home.

After dinner that night, they were taking a bath, and after my wife had taken out my grand-daughter to dry her off and get her in PJ’s, I stayed with my grandson, still in the tub. He was playing with the watering can he had gotten, pretending it was “raining”, and then pretending he was watering the flowers with it. At one point he said to me, “pop pop, can I water the vegetables?” I said sure, but we’d do it the next day after the sun came out. He was satisfied with that answer and played some more. Then he said “pop pop, I want to water your bagels”. I said “what?” He repeated, “I want to water your bagels”. I said “my bagels?” He said “yea, your bagels.” I sat puzzled for a moment and started to say “but I don’t have any….”, and then I realized. I asked him, “do you mean you want to water my basil?” He said “yea, your bagels.”

“Sure pal, tomorrow you can water my bagels.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

