My take on: Mama Pita Mediterranean Grill

May 6, 2011

Went to Mama Pita Mediterranean Grill for dinner tonight. Mary got a groupon for it, and it’s near where we like to get some cake and coffee on Bishop Rd in Plano, so why not? There were choices of a platter, a wrap and a pita (the picture of the pita was covered with a sign saying “coming soon”). We both got the platter. Understand, I’m first skeptical whenever I go into any restaurant like this. We lived in Greece for 2 years after we were first married, so anything “Greek”, my mind goes to memories. To be fair, I have not found a Greek restaurant that compares at all to what we had in Greece. It kinda makes sense. It’s Greece. Most of the food memories come with experiences never to be repeated. No place could live up to that.

Things started off a little shaky, as the young man behind the counter seemed a little unsure of himself, and our hearing not being what it used to be, we proclaimed “I’m sorry. What did you say? I couldn’t quite hear you” a number of times. But we got through that part of the process with us leaning a bit more towards him, and he spoke slightly louder.

We were able to get a couple of dips (I passed on the tzatziki, as we make that at home, and can be cruel with our comparisons), I chose the red beet humus and the carrot humus. Then got fattouch (kind of a Greek salad) Feta cheese on top, and some orzo. We both got falafel. It came also with a warm tortilla (it could be called something else, it wasn’t a pita in my mind, as when I think of pita, I think of a traditional pocket pita). We walked away with full plates.

I was very pleased with the food. I enjoyed the red beet and carrot humus, a sweeter taste than the traditional humus (which they also have as a choice). The salad was nice, cold, crisp, and tart. I enjoyed the orzo as well. I’m usually one for warm orzo dishes, but this was a real flavorful cold side dish. The warm tortilla was nice to wipe up the humus with. The falafel had a great brown exterior that gave a great crunch when biting into it. We got tahini sauce to dip the falafel in, as well as some cilantro dipping sauce. They were both very good, the tahini done very well, and the cilantro very flavorful, although not the one I’d use to dip my falafel into (I dipped my remaining pieces of tortilla in it). Very nice.

With the groupon coupon, we paid less than $8.00 overall (including the cost of the coupon), but even without the coupon, for the amount of food we had, and the flavors in it, I think it’s a great value. We had water with our meal, but they also have teas, soft drinks and serve alcohol. I would definitely go back.

The only thing I’m at a loss about is the “coming soon” pita thing (Mary said “you’re not bringing that up are you? You’d better be nice!” I’ll be nice, I’ll be nice, I’m sorry, I just can’t help myself). Before we left, I asked one of the young men behind the counter when they expected to get pitas. He told me he wasn’t sure. I asked how long they had been open, he told me about a year. The pita is still “coming soon”. As I said, it was a great meal, and I’d go back without hesitation, but if the pita isn’t going to be “coming soon”, maybe it’s time to take it down from the menu? I like having pita pockets with my falafel and humus, pulls it all together for me, so when I go back, if it it’s still “coming soon”, I’m sure I’ll again ask “when?”

In addition to the choice of falafel there are meat choices and a veggie choice. Great meal. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

